WOW – What Oh Week!

This week did not turn out as expected, not by a long shot. The major reason for all the things that have happened – and not happened – is the annual influenza peak season that is occuring here at the moment and it has had its effect on our plans directly and indirectly. Let me explain…

Our students choose their optional courses for the following year in the beginning of February. This year we tested a new system so that the students could do it themselves. Well, as you know new ways of doing things require more time than the old ones, and as it followed getting the results took an unexpectedly long time period. Also, many students were absent from school for long time periods because of the influenza peak season and we couldn’t finish the process because of the missing choices. Now that we finally got the lists today in the afternoon it seems that only six students have chosen our course and the most obvious outcome is that we won’t be able to run it next year. We are still going to try to see if there is a way to carry out the project. I will have at least four groups of 9th graders next year so maybe there is a way to incorporate this idea in one of the other courses. Actually I’m quite confident that there is.

At this point, however, I am sorry to tell you that I can’t make any promises. But still we will have to turn in that application March 1st if we are going to apply for funding. I would very much like to do that but we will have to think about it for a few days. I have been on a sick leave myself since Tuesday because my son has pneumonia, and we are in fact in a hospital right now. So, I will get back to you as soon as we have figured it out. But I would like to hang on to this great project idea until the deadline in the beginning of March. Are you with me?

One thought on “WOW – What Oh Week!

  1. Dear Annika,
    What a pity to have health problems with children, it hurts more than your own ones. of course, we are with you! We will support you if you need anything from us, but as soon you figure out the way to manage the project, let us know.
    I’m already eager to work with you! I’ll keep my fingers crossed and I’m sending you all my blessings for your son to get well.
    Lots of love,
    Gaida

Leave a comment