Age matters?- yes, it does. :)

As I have only year 7 students in English, I thought about including some of my year 8 (Spanish) students into this project group. I meet these kids at least 3 times weekly and they could be a great help for the younger ones. They are also more used to blogging. And, last but not least, we would have some “older” students to meet the really “old” :) ones from Latvia and Finland. I talked to some of the year 8 kids about this project and they were quite excited about being part and give a hand to the “small” ones. I had to laugh about it, it was so cute to listen to them, how they described the “little ones” who are just a year – or even less- younger. But, when you are a teenager, age matters, doesn’t it? So, ladies, what do you think? 

We are looking forward to the Latvian blog! 

One thought on “Age matters?- yes, it does. :)

  1. Before this project I worked in a project with Lithuanian and Danish schools. Like now we always involved 9th-graders because that is when we offer courses like this. The Danes involved 8th-graders because they found it too much for the 9th-graders who have so much to do in the last year of comprehensive school. The Lithuanians invited anyone to take part from their school because they had no other alternative than to make the project available as an extracurricular activity, an after school club that is to say. So there were 11-year-olds involved among others. They all got along really well. It was so heartbreaking to see how the family of one of our 9th-grade girls were all crying at the bus station when their 11-year-old Lithuanian boy had to go back home. So, I think that students have lots of stereotypical and prejudiced thinking as far as age is concerned. But in real life when they have been invited to a foreign home to share their life for a week, age does not matter anymore. Well, at least this has been my experience in the past, and I’ve tried my best to make my students see it this way.

Leave a comment